Home > Schools > More Services > Area Planning Section
Area Planning Section

Area Planning Section

The Area Planning Section is responsible for Area Planning and for the planning and development of the Board's major and minor capital building schemes.  

Area Planning:

In September 2011, the Education Minister, John O’Dowd MLA, commissioned the Education and Library Boards working in close conjunction with the Council for Catholic Maintained Schools and engaging extensively with other school sectors, to develop collective strategic plans on an area basis. The area based planning process will result in an effectively planned, sustainable and affordable pattern of schools. This will ensure that we have the right type and size of schools, in the right places, to meet the needs of our pupils and young people.

This work includes the production of strategic area plans and the resultant actions emanating from these plans e.g consultation on and publication of development proposals for a change in provision in any school sector.

 Please click on the side menu to access further information including the Area Plans and Area Profiles published by the Board.

Planning and Development:

The Section is responsible for the planning and development of the Board’s estate to ensure that the accommodation needs of controlled schools and other Board properties are adequately met using the various capital funding streams available.

At present accommodation requirements can be addressed via the following capital funding streams:

  • Major Capital Projects;
  • Minor Works;
  • School Enhancement Programme; and
  • Shared Education Programme.

The section works to identify and quantify need, following which it seeks to develop solutions that will provide adequate educational facilities. This work is carried out in association with other Board sections and the Department of Education where relevant and within the resources available.


NameJob TitleContact Number
Avril EmersonPlanning & Development Support Officer028 3751 2487
Collette FayPlanning & Development Support Officer028 3751 2453
Helen Hagan  
Jean WrightPlanning & Development Support Officer028 3751 2203
Mairead MaguireHead of Admissions & Area Planning028 3751 2411




The Southern Education and Library Board (the ‘Board’) was established as part of Local Government reorganisation in 1973 and is the largest of the five area Boards. The Board's principle functions are the provision of education and youth services to the District Council areas of Armagh, Banbridge, Cookstown, Craigavon, Dungannon & South Tyrone and Newry & Mourne. It spans 1,450 square miles with a total population of approximately 390,300 including 75,767 pupils.


3 Charlemont Place, The Mall, Armagh, BT61 9AX.
Telephone number: 028 3751 2200 | Email: info@eani.org.uk