Home > Parents & Students > Special Education Needs > Special Schools
Special Schools

Special Schools

There are 5 special schools in the SELB for pupils with severe learning difficulties. These schools provide for pupils from compulsory school age (5 and rising 5) up to the year in which they are 19 years of age.

This includes those pupils with profound and multiple learning difficulties, complex healthcare needs in conjunction with severe learning difficulties and some who exhibit challenging behaviour.

Pupils are placed at the school by the SELB following statutory assessment, consideration of parental wishes and statements of special educational needs. The main aim of the school is to assist pupils to develop to their full potential within a warm,caring, educational environment and to equip them with the skills which they will need when they leave school.

All pupils follow the Northern Ireland Curriculum. The Curriculum is broadly based, balanced and relevant to the needs of such pupils, with individual educational programmes tailored to meet their specific needs. There are links with local schools in each area and the curriculum is supplemented by a wide range of additional activities.

Please access the individual school websites below:

Ceara School, Lurgan     

Donard School, Banbridge 

Lisanally School, Armagh 

Rathore School, Newry

Sperrinview School, Dungannon 

Further information can be obtained by contacting the school.


NameJob TitleContact Number
Dr Peter CunninghamPrincipal - Ceara School028 3832 3312
Edel LaveryPrincipal - Donard School028 4066 2357
Paula JordanPrincipal - Sperrinview School028 8772 2467
Raymond CassidyPrincipal - Rathore School028 3026 1617
Sandra FlynnPrincipal - Lisanally School028 3752 3563




The Southern Education and Library Board (the ‘Board’) was established as part of Local Government reorganisation in 1973 and is the largest of the five area Boards. The Board's principle functions are the provision of education and youth services to the District Council areas of Armagh, Banbridge, Cookstown, Craigavon, Dungannon & South Tyrone and Newry & Mourne. It spans 1,450 square miles with a total population of approximately 390,300 including 75,767 pupils.


3 Charlemont Place, The Mall, Armagh, BT61 9AX.
Telephone number: 028 3751 2200 | Email: info@eani.org.uk