Home > Parents & Students > Admissions


The SELB manages the procedures for the enrolment of children in pre-school (age 2-4 years), primary school (age 4-11 years) and post primary schools (age 11-18 years). Each year the Pupil and Parent Unit assist parents and schools in enrolling approximately 14,000 children into various types of educational settings within the three groups listed above.

Board staff are available to provide advice to parents, school staff and Boards of Governors in relation to enrolment procedures, timetables, admissions criteria and where applicable the appeals procedure which exists where a child is not admitted into the school their parent has chosen.

Separate procedures exist for admission to pre-school, primary and post primary education. Details of each of these procedures, schools in the Southern Education and Library Board’s area and their admissions criteria are available in booklet form from the Southern Education and Library Board, schools or playgroups may be downloaded in pdf format from this website.

Additionally an online directory of schools in Northern Ireland and the individual admissions criteria for each school is available on the link below

Schools Directory and Admissions Criteria




The Southern Education and Library Board (the ‘Board’) was established as part of Local Government reorganisation in 1973 and is the largest of the five area Boards. The Board's principle functions are the provision of education and youth services to the District Council areas of Armagh, Banbridge, Cookstown, Craigavon, Dungannon & South Tyrone and Newry & Mourne. It spans 1,450 square miles with a total population of approximately 390,300 including 75,767 pupils.


3 Charlemont Place, The Mall, Armagh, BT61 9AX.
Telephone number: 028 3751 2200 | Email: selb.hq@selb.org